Council of Kadosh


Philosophical and Chivalric Degrees

NumberDegree NameNumberDegree Name
19Grand Pontiff25Knight of the Brazen Serpent
20Master of the Symbolic Lodge26Prince of Mercy
21Noachite or Prussian Knight27Knight Commander of the Temple
22Knight of the Royal Axe28Knight of the Sun
23Chief of the Tabernacle29Knight of St Andrew
24Prince of the Tabernacle30Knight Kadosh

The degrees encompassed by the Council of Kadosh are the 19th through 30th. Although Pike identifies them as chivalric or philosophical, they are all intensely mystical with respect to the lessons conveyed and symbols employed.

The Council degrees explain why morality and the practice of virtue are indispensable to Masons. The political lessons explain why intolerance, superstition and bigotry are special enemies of human freedom. The examination of widely varied religions seeks to explain the nature of Deity and the relationship between Him and mankind.

Comments are closed.